I called this post foreign language censorship because I don’t know what else to call this phenomenon. It’s when a native speaker of that language knows you are learning their language and you come across a random word and they say, “You don’t need to know that word!”

Yes I do.

Even if I never use it myself, I need to understand it. If a majority of native speakers understand a word, I need to be able to comprehend it too.

I said words a majority of native speakers know as just a benchmark, but if someone wants to know more technical words for sciences or other obscure subsections of that language, why would you discourage people?

An argument might be, “There are more common words you need to learn first.” Yes, you’ll need to learn those words too but why stifle someone who has an interest in an obscure subject? That person is following their interests and that keeps them moving forward in their new language.

It seems people want to sanitize their language for foreigners. They want to give them the idealized version of what the language should be, but isn’t in reality. So please everyone, let’s let down the facade and come to grips with the fact that languages are ever changing and filled with slang, contractions, obscure jargon, dialectal variations, and other such features. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. Let’s not hinder learners from knowing the true language.

